Independent card analysis

Standard Chartered Ultimate Credit Card

Standard Chartered India · Mastercard · Premium card

High uncapped general reward value and a substantial lounge allowance make it distinctive among premium bank cards.

Best suited to

High-spend users who want broad rewards, frequent airport lounge access and a lower forex markup.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 24 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹5,000 + GST
Joining fee
₹5,000 + GST
Base reward rate
3.3%
Forex markup
2%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Online shopping
3.3%
Dining & delivery
3.3%
Travel & hotels
3.3%
Beauty & wellness
3.3%
Entertainment & movies
3.3%
Healthcare & pharmacy
3.3%
Subscriptions & streaming
3.3%
Offline store shopping
3.3%
International spending
3.3%
Gold & jewellery
3.3%
Other miscellaneous
3.3%
Groceries & essentials
2%
Bills & utilities
2%
Education & family
2%
House rent
2%
Insurance premiums
2%
Fuel & commute
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
Duty-free cashback: ₹1,000/statement cycle
Annual fee waiver
No waiver recorded
Monthly income requirement
Not listed

Airport lounge access

16 domestic airport lounge visits per year • 12 international airport lounge visits per year

4 domestic airport lounge visits per quarter · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

12 international airport lounge visits per year · Priority Pass

Guest access: Chargeable

Requires ₹20,001 per Calendar month for the following calendar month

Maximum one complimentary visit per month after spending more than ₹20,000 in the previous month; Priority Pass visits in India are chargeable.

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 6 items
  • Duty-free cashback

    Usage-based value

    5% cashback only at merchants registered as duty-free; these transactions do not also earn reward points.

    Conditions: 5% cashback only at merchants registered as duty-free; these transactions do not also earn reward points.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • Reduced-category points

    Usage-based value

    Three points per ₹150 on supermarkets, utilities, schools, property management and insurance.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • Government-payment points

    Usage-based value

    Three points per ₹150 on eligible transactions coded as government payments.

    Conditions: Three points per ₹150 on eligible transactions coded as government payments.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • Other eligible Ultimate points

    Usage-based value

    Five points per ₹150 on other eligible online and offline transactions.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • 5 points per ₹150 on most eligible purchases

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • 3 points per ₹150 on utilities, supermarkets, insurance, property management, schools and government

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹5,000

    ₹5,000 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹5,000

    ₹5,000 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Welcome benefits · 2 items
  • 6,000 Ultimate reward points

    Recorded value ₹6,000

    Welcome points worth ₹6,000 at the conservative ₹1 catalogue value.

    Conditions: Pay the applicable ₹5,000 joining fee · Points are credited after fee realisation under the issuer’s fulfilment timeline

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • 5,000 renewal points after realisation of the renewal fee; not counted as a first-year welcome benefit

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 3 items
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    4 visits per quarter through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • International lounge access

    Usage-based value

    12 visits per year through Priority Pass. Guest access: chargeable. Maximum one complimentary visit per month after spending more than ₹20,000 in the previous month; Priority Pass visits in India are chargeable.

    Conditions: Spend ₹20,001 per calendar month

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • Complimentary Priority Pass membership; non-qualified and guest visits are chargeable

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Golf · 1 item
  • One complimentary domestic golf game and one coaching session monthly; convenience charges, booking rules and availability still apply

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Insurance and protection · 4 items
  • ₹1 crore international air-accidental-death cover when the fare is paid with the card

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • Checked-baggage loss up to US$500, baggage delay up to US$100 and baggage or document loss up to US$750

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • Hijack and flight-delay cover up to US$200 each and emergency medical expenses up to US$25,000

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
  • Lost or stolen card cover up to ₹25,000; insurance claims require the published recent non-ATM card use and other policy conditions

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Memberships · 1 item
  • Complimentary Priority Pass membership; non-qualified and guest visits are chargeable

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 1 item
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    2% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. No universal verified numeric income threshold is used as a hard filter. Standard Chartered does not publish one universal numeric income threshold for Ultimate Credit Card.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Other benefits · 1 item
  • 1% fuel-surcharge waiver capped at ₹1,000 per statement cycle

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-24Official source ↗
Other categories (8)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ 5 points per ₹150 on most eligible purchases
  • ✓ 3 points per ₹150 on utilities, supermarkets, insurance, property management, schools and government
  • ✓ Four domestic lounge visits per quarter
  • ✓ One international lounge visit monthly after prior-month ₹20,000 spend

What to watch

The ₹5,000 renewal fee has no spend waiver. Selected everyday categories earn 2%, fuel earns no points, and Priority Pass use in India or beyond the qualified monthly international visit is chargeable.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Cash withdrawal · Fees charges · Chargeback · Fraudulent transaction

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 24 Sept 2026 · Latest recorded change effective 25 Aug 2024