Independent card analysis

PhonePe SBI Card SELECT BLACK

SBI Card · Visa · Mid card

If PhonePe is your default payment app, the accelerated PhonePe rate compounds fast across recharges, bill pay and in-app shopping.

Best suited to

Heavy PhonePe users who also want lounge access and a mid-tier fee.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 13 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹1,499 + GST
Joining fee
₹1,499 + GST
Base reward rate
1%
Forex markup
3.5%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Online shopping
1%
Dining & delivery
1%
Groceries & essentials
1%
Travel & hotels
1%
Subscriptions & streaming
1%
Beauty & wellness
1%
Entertainment & movies
1%
Offline store shopping
1%
International spending
1%
Healthcare & pharmacy
1%
Other miscellaneous
1%
Bills & utilities
0%
Fuel & commute
0%
House rent
0%
Insurance premiums
0%
Education & family
0%
Gold & jewellery
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
No general cap recorded
Annual fee waiver
At ₹3,00,000 annual spending
Monthly income requirement
Not listed

Airport lounge access

4 domestic airport lounge visits per year

1 domestic airport lounge visit per quarter · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

Maximum four complimentary visits per calendar year; no spend condition is published.

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 8 items
  • Eligible PhonePe in-app rewards

    Usage-based value

    10 points per ₹100 requires a settled eligible PhonePe in-app recharge, utility, bill-payment or travel transaction of at least ₹100.

    Conditions: 10 points per ₹100 requires a settled eligible PhonePe in-app recharge, utility, bill-payment or travel transaction of at least ₹100.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Eligible PhonePe insurance rewards

    Usage-based value

    10 points per ₹100 requires an eligible insurance payment inside PhonePe and has its own 500-point monthly cap.

    Conditions: 10 points per ₹100 requires an eligible insurance payment inside PhonePe and has its own 500-point monthly cap.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Eligible online rewards

    Usage-based value

    5 points per ₹100 requires an eligible online transaction identified by the card network; utility and insurance payments outside PhonePe are excluded.

    Conditions: 5 points per ₹100 requires an eligible online transaction identified by the card network; utility and insurance payments outside PhonePe are excluded.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • PhonePe Scan & Pay rewards

    Usage-based value

    Eligible Scan & Pay through the PhonePe app earns 1% value back.

    Conditions: Eligible Scan & Pay through the PhonePe app earns 1% value back.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • UPI outside PhonePe

    Usage-based value

    Scan & Pay or online UPI transactions outside PhonePe earn no points from 1 July 2026.

    Conditions: Scan & Pay or online UPI transactions outside PhonePe earn no points from 1 July 2026.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Other eligible rewards

    Usage-based value

    1 point per ₹100 applies to other eligible settled transactions of at least ₹100.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • 10 reward points per ₹100 on eligible PhonePe in-app spends, with separate insurance and non-insurance caps

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • 5 reward points per ₹100 on eligible online spends and 1 point per ₹100 on other eligible spends

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹1,499

    ₹1,499 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹1,499

    ₹1,499 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fee waiver · 1 item
  • Annual fee waiver

    Usage-based · up to ₹1,499

    Annual fee may be waived after ₹3,00,000 of eligible annual spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹3,00,000 eligible annual spending

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Welcome benefits · 1 item
  • ₹1,500 PhonePe welcome voucher

    Recorded value ₹1,500

    PhonePe e-gift voucher after realization of the standard joining fee.

    Conditions: Pay the standard ₹1,499 joining fee · Not available when the card is issued under a first-year-free offer

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Spend milestones · 1 item
  • ₹5,000 Yatra voucher at ₹5 lakh

    Recorded value ₹5,000

    Single-use voucher for eligible Yatra flight, hotel or holiday booking.

    Conditions: Reach ₹5,00,000 per card anniversary year

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 2 items
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    1 visit per quarter through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified. Maximum four complimentary visits per calendar year; no spend condition is published.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Complimentary two-year Priority Pass membership; every lounge visit is chargeable

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fuel benefits · 1 item
  • 1% fuel surcharge waiver on eligible ₹500-₹4,000 transactions, capped at ₹250 per statement cycle

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Memberships · 1 item
  • Complimentary two-year Priority Pass membership; every lounge visit is chargeable

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 1 item
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    3.5% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. No universal verified numeric income threshold is used as a hard filter. SBI Card does not publish one universal numeric income threshold on the reviewed product materials.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Other categories (8)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ 10 reward points per ₹100 on eligible PhonePe in-app spends, with separate insurance and non-insurance caps
  • ✓ 5 reward points per ₹100 on eligible online spends and 1 point per ₹100 on other eligible spends
  • ✓ 1 reward point = ₹1 for statement credit or eligible gift vouchers
  • ✓ ₹5,000 Yatra voucher at ₹5 lakh annual spend, plus four domestic lounge visits yearly

What to watch

PhonePe, online and other-spend rewards have separate monthly caps. From 1 July 2026, UPI transactions outside PhonePe earn no reward points, and Priority Pass visits are chargeable.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Education Family · Gold Jewellery · Rent · Wallet load · Government payments · Gaming · Gift souvenir · Tolls bridges · Cash withdrawal · Emi · Fees charges

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Terms tracker

Card change history

Material changes verified against dated issuer notices. Effective dates can differ from announcement dates.

  1. Mixed impact

    Reward pools and UPI eligibility revised

    SBI Card introduced four separate monthly reward pools and stopped rewards on UPI payments made outside PhonePe.

    Before
    The earlier programme did not use the current four-pool reward-cap structure.
    After
    PhonePe non-insurance, PhonePe insurance, online and other rewards have separate monthly caps; non-PhonePe UPI earns zero.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 13 Sept 2026 · Latest recorded change effective 1 Jul 2026