Independent card analysis

SBI Card PRIME

SBI Card · Visa · Premium card

Adds a high-spend lifestyle case that combines movies, dining, groceries, travel vouchers and lounge access, with a fee waiver below its largest annual milestone.

Best suited to

Higher-spend households that regularly use movies, dining and groceries and can reach ₹5 lakh of eligible annual spend.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 13 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹2,999 + GST
Joining fee
₹2,999 + GST
Base reward rate
0.5%
Forex markup
3.5%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Groceries & essentials
2.5%
Dining & delivery
2.5%
Entertainment & movies
2.5%
Online shopping
0.5%
Travel & hotels
0.5%
Bills & utilities
0.5%
Beauty & wellness
0.5%
Education & family
0.5%
Healthcare & pharmacy
0.5%
Subscriptions & streaming
0.5%
Offline store shopping
0.5%
International spending
0.5%
Insurance premiums
0.5%
Other miscellaneous
0.5%
Gold & jewellery
0.5%
Fuel & commute
0%
House rent
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
No general cap recorded
Annual fee waiver
At ₹3,00,000 annual spending
Monthly income requirement
Not listed

Airport lounge access

8 domestic airport lounge visits per year • 4 international airport lounge visits per year

2 domestic airport lounge visits per quarter · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

4 international airport lounge visits per year · Priority Pass

Guest access: Chargeable

Maximum two complimentary international visits per calendar quarter.

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 8 items
  • Named PRIME partner bonus

    Usage-based value

    Thirteen incremental points plus the two-point base produce 15 points per ₹100 at BigBasket, Reliance Fresh, Reliance Smart, Reliance Footprint, Reliance Trends and Sahakari Bhandar.

    Conditions: Thirteen incremental points plus the two-point base produce 15 points per ₹100 at BigBasket, Reliance Fresh, Reliance Smart, Reliance Footprint, Reliance Trends and Sahakari Bhandar.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
  • Utility standing-instruction bonus

    Usage-based value

    Eighteen incremental points plus the two-point base produce 20 points per ₹100 on eligible utility standing instructions.

    Conditions: Eighteen incremental points plus the two-point base produce 20 points per ₹100 on eligible utility standing instructions.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
  • Dining, grocery and movie bonus

    Usage-based value

    Eight incremental points plus the two-point base produce 10 points per ₹100 on eligible dining, grocery and movie purchases.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
  • Department-store bonus

    Usage-based value

    Eight incremental points plus the two-point base produce 10 points per ₹100 at eligible departmental stores.

    Conditions: Eight incremental points plus the two-point base produce 10 points per ₹100 at eligible departmental stores.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
  • Birthday-window bonus

    Usage-based value

    Eighteen incremental points plus the two-point base produce 20 points per ₹100 on the birthday, previous day and following day.

    Conditions: Eighteen incremental points plus the two-point base produce 20 points per ₹100 on the birthday, previous day and following day.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
  • Base reward points

    Usage-based value

    Two reward points per ₹100 on eligible retail purchases; base points continue after an accelerator cap is reached.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
  • Birthday earn of 20 points per ₹100 during the three-day birthday window, capped at 2,000 total points yearly

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • 10 points per ₹100 on dining, grocery and movies; 15 at named partners and 20 on utility standing instructions

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹2,999

    ₹2,999 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹2,999

    ₹2,999 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fee waiver · 2 items
  • Annual fee waiver

    Usage-based · up to ₹2,999

    Annual fee may be waived after ₹3,00,000 of eligible annual spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹3,00,000 eligible annual spending

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • ₹3 lakh eligible annual spend waives the renewal fee

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Welcome benefits · 1 item
  • ₹3,000 welcome e-gift voucher

    Recorded value ₹3,000

    Choice from the eligible lifestyle and travel voucher brands.

    Conditions: Pay the applicable joining fee · Claim within the issuer fulfilment window

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Spend milestones · 2 items
  • ₹1,000 Pizza Hut voucher at ₹50,000 quarterly spend

    Recorded value ₹1,000

    Unlocked after ₹50,000 of eligible spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹50,000 per calendar quarter

    Exclusions: fuelCommute · rent

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
  • ₹7,000 Yatra or Pantaloons voucher at ₹5 lakh

    Recorded value ₹7,000

    Unlocked after ₹5,00,000 of eligible spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹5,00,000 per card anniversary year

    Exclusions: fuelCommute · rent

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
Card tiers · 1 item
  • Trident Privilege Red Tier membership and its partner benefits

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 2 items
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    2 visits per quarter through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • International lounge access

    Usage-based value

    4 visits per year through Priority Pass. Guest access: chargeable. Maximum two complimentary international visits per calendar quarter.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Golf · 1 item
  • Four complimentary golf green-fee rounds and network golf discounts

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fuel benefits · 1 item
  • 1% fuel surcharge waiver on ₹400-₹5,000 transactions, capped at ₹250 per month

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Memberships · 1 item
  • Trident Privilege Red Tier membership and its partner benefits

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 1 item
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    3.5% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. No universal verified numeric income threshold is used as a hard filter. SBI Card does not publish a universal numeric income threshold for PRIME.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-22Official source ↗
Other categories (6)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ 10 points per ₹100 on dining, grocery and movies; 15 at named partners and 20 on utility standing instructions
  • ✓ Quarterly ₹1,000 Pizza Hut voucher plus ₹7,000 annual voucher at ₹5 lakh
  • ✓ Eight domestic and four international airport lounge visits yearly
  • ✓ ₹3 lakh eligible annual spend waives the renewal fee

What to watch

Four points equal ₹1 and redemption requests can attract a fee. Accelerated lifestyle points are capped monthly; government, gaming, fuel, rent and several financial transactions earn no points.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Rent · Wallet load · Government payments · Online gaming · Cash withdrawal · Balance transfer · Encash · Emi · Fees charges

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Affiliate disclosure: Affiliate link · GainFair may earn a commission if you complete a qualifying action. You pay nothing extra, and compensation never affects recommendations or rankings. Read the full disclosure.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Terms tracker

Card change history

Material changes verified against dated issuer notices. Effective dates can differ from announcement dates.

  1. Value reduced

    Air-accident cover discontinued

    SBI Card discontinued the former complimentary air-accident insurance benefit.

    Before
    The card included ₹50 lakh air-accident cover.
    After
    The air-accident cover is no longer part of the current PRIME benefits.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 13 Sept 2026 · Latest recorded change effective 15 Jul 2025