Independent card analysis

SBI Card MILES

SBI Card · Visa · Mid card

Provides an accessible route into transferable airline and hotel rewards, with a lower fee than the Prime variant and a meaningful ₹5 lakh milestone.

Best suited to

Moderate travel spenders who want transferable rewards and expect to reach ₹5 lakh of eligible yearly spend.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 13 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹1,499 + GST
Joining fee
₹1,499 + GST
Base reward rate
0.5%
Forex markup
3%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Travel & hotels
1%
Online shopping
0.5%
Groceries & essentials
0.5%
Dining & delivery
0.5%
Beauty & wellness
0.5%
Entertainment & movies
0.5%
Education & family
0.5%
Healthcare & pharmacy
0.5%
Subscriptions & streaming
0.5%
Offline store shopping
0.5%
International spending
0.5%
Insurance premiums
0.5%
Other miscellaneous
0.5%
Gold & jewellery
0.5%
Fuel & commute
0%
Bills & utilities
0%
House rent
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
No general cap recorded
Annual fee waiver
At ₹6,00,000 annual spending
Monthly income requirement
Not listed

Airport lounge access

4 domestic airport lounge visits per year

1 domestic airport lounge visit per quarter · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

Additional domestic Priority Pass vouchers are earned for each ₹1 lakh spend, capped at eight in a membership year.

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 2 items
  • Travel Credits on travel

    Usage-based value

    2 Travel Credits per ₹200 on eligible travel purchases identified by the issuer travel MCC list.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Other eligible Travel Credits

    Usage-based value

    1 Travel Credit per ₹200 on other eligible retail purchases.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹1,499

    ₹1,499 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹1,499

    ₹1,499 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fee waiver · 1 item
  • Annual fee waiver

    Usage-based · up to ₹1,499

    Annual fee may be waived after ₹6,00,000 of eligible annual spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹6,00,000 eligible annual spending

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Welcome benefits · 1 item
  • 1,500 Travel Credits

    Recorded value ₹375

    Welcome Travel Credits conservatively valued at ₹0.25 each; partner-transfer value can be higher.

    Conditions: Spend ₹30,000 on eligible purchases within 60 days

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Spend milestones · 1 item
  • 5,000 Travel Credits at ₹5 lakh

    5,000 reward units

    Unlocked after ₹5,00,000 of eligible spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹5,00,000 per card anniversary year

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 2 items
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    1 visit per quarter through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified. Additional domestic Priority Pass vouchers are earned for each ₹1 lakh spend, capped at eight in a membership year.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • One additional domestic lounge voucher for every ₹1 lakh spend, capped at eight per membership year

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Travel privileges · 2 items
  • Travel Credits expire 24 months after receipt

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Two Travel Credits per ₹200 on eligible travel and one per ₹200 on other eligible spend

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Insurance and protection · 1 item
  • Lost-card fraud-liability cover up to ₹1 lakh, including the published pre-reporting and post-reporting windows

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fuel benefits · 1 item
  • 1% fuel surcharge waiver on ₹500-₹3,000 transactions, capped at ₹250 per billing statement

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Memberships · 1 item
  • One additional domestic lounge voucher for every ₹1 lakh spend, capped at eight per membership year

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 1 item
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    3% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. No universal verified numeric income threshold is used as a hard filter. SBI Card does not publish a universal numeric income threshold for MILES.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Other categories (6)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ Two Travel Credits per ₹200 on eligible travel and one per ₹200 on other eligible spend
  • ✓ 1,500 welcome Travel Credits after ₹30,000 spend within 60 days
  • ✓ 5,000 milestone Travel Credits at ₹5 lakh anniversary-year spend
  • ✓ One domestic lounge visit per quarter plus up to eight spend-linked lounge vouchers yearly

What to watch

The displayed value assumes Travel Credits are transferred to eligible airline or hotel partners at ₹1 each. SBI travel bookings value them at ₹0.50 and catalogue redemptions at ₹0.25.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Bills Utilities · Rent · Cash withdrawal · Balance transfer · Emi · Encash · Wallet load · Cashback transactions

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Affiliate disclosure: Affiliate link · GainFair may earn a commission if you complete a qualifying action. You pay nothing extra, and compensation never affects recommendations or rankings. Read the full disclosure.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Terms tracker

Card change history

Material changes verified against dated issuer notices. Effective dates can differ from announcement dates.

  1. Value reduced

    Base domestic lounge allowance reduced

    SBI Card reduced the quarterly domestic lounge allowance on the base MILES card.

    Before
    Two domestic airport lounge visits were available per quarter.
    After
    One domestic airport lounge visit is available per quarter.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 13 Sept 2026 · Latest recorded change effective 10 Jan 2026