Independent card analysis

Shoppers Stop Black HDFC Bank Credit Card

HDFC Bank · Visa · Premium card

A strong store-loyalty card for high Shoppers Stop spenders who also use premium lounge benefits.

Best suited to

Frequent Shoppers Stop customers who travel often enough to value the lounge package.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 23 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹4,500 + GST
Joining fee
₹4,500 + GST
Base reward rate
2%
Forex markup
3.5%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Online shopping
2%
Dining & delivery
2%
Travel & hotels
2%
Bills & utilities
2%
Beauty & wellness
2%
Entertainment & movies
2%
Education & family
2%
Healthcare & pharmacy
2%
Subscriptions & streaming
2%
Offline store shopping
2%
International spending
2%
Other miscellaneous
2%
Groceries & essentials
0%
Fuel & commute
0%
Gold & jewellery
0%
House rent
0%
Insurance premiums
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
No general cap recorded
Annual fee waiver
No waiver recorded
Monthly income requirement
Approx. ₹70,000/month

Airport lounge access

16 domestic airport lounge visits per year • 8 international airport lounge visits per year

4 domestic airport lounge visits per quarter · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

2 international airport lounge visits per quarter · Priority Pass

Guest access: Chargeable

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 3 items
  • Shoppers Stop purchases

    Usage-based value

    Seven points per ₹100 on eligible Shoppers Stop transactions of at least ₹150.

    Conditions: Seven points per ₹100 on eligible Shoppers Stop transactions of at least ₹150.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Other eligible purchases

    Usage-based value

    Two points per ₹100 on other eligible purchases of at least ₹150; the current table, examples and product page support 2% despite an isolated legacy 1% heading in the PDF.

    Conditions: Two points per ₹100 on other eligible purchases of at least ₹150; the current table, examples and product page support 2% despite an isolated legacy 1% heading in the PDF.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • 7% Reward Points at Shoppers Stop and 2% on other eligible purchases

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹4,500

    ₹4,500 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹4,500

    ₹4,500 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Welcome benefits · 2 items
  • ₹1,500 Shoppers Stop voucher

    Recorded value ₹1,500

    Fixed-face-value welcome voucher for eligible Shoppers Stop use.

    Conditions: Pay the applicable joining fee · Pay for the eligible voucher purchase with the card · Voucher validity and issuer fulfilment terms apply

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Shoppers Stop Black membership

    Shown without a cash value

    Complimentary membership with issuer-stated ₹4,500 face value; no cash-equivalent value is assumed.

    Conditions: Activate the card · Membership and partner terms apply

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 2 items
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    4 visits per quarter through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • International lounge access

    Usage-based value

    2 visits per quarter through Priority Pass. Guest access: chargeable.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Insurance and protection · 4 items
  • Air-death cover up to ₹3 crore

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Overseas emergency-hospitalisation cover up to ₹50 lakh

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Credit-liability cover up to ₹9 lakh

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Weekend ₹50,000 Shoppers Stop purchase benefit and extensive travel protection

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Memberships · 1 item
  • Complimentary Shoppers Stop Black membership with issuer-stated ₹4,500 face value

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 1 item
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    3.5% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. Published minimum monthly income: ₹70,000. The current eligibility page publishes ₹70,000 gross monthly income for salaried applicants.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Other benefits · 2 items
  • ₹1,500 benefit on an eligible single ₹50,000 Shoppers Stop weekend purchase, up to five times yearly

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • 1% fuel-surcharge waiver capped at ₹500 per statement cycle

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Other categories (9)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ 7% Reward Points at Shoppers Stop and 2% on other eligible purchases
  • ✓ ₹1,500 welcome voucher plus complimentary Shoppers Stop Black membership
  • ✓ Sixteen domestic and eight international lounge visits yearly
  • ✓ Weekend ₹50,000 Shoppers Stop purchase benefit and extensive travel protection

What to watch

Cash redemption values points at only ₹0.20; the ₹1 rate is for Shoppers Stop vouchers. Store and non-store earn have separate monthly caps, and no annual-fee waiver is published.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Groceries · Rent · Insurance · Gold Jewellery · Wallet load · Government payments · Tax payments · Emi · Vending food · Liquor · Bakeries · Cash withdrawal · Travellers cheques

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Affiliate disclosure: Affiliate link · GainFair may earn a commission if you complete a qualifying action. You pay nothing extra, and compensation never affects recommendations or rankings. Read the full disclosure.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 23 Sept 2026