Independent card analysis

Marriott Bonvoy HDFC Bank Credit Card

HDFC Bank · Diners Club · Premium card

The clear pick if you already stay at Marriott properties regularly: Bonvoy points and elite status compound value beyond the raw cashback-equivalent %.

Best suited to

Frequent Marriott/Bonvoy hotel guests who want elite status alongside their spending.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 13 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹3,000 + GST
Joining fee
₹3,000 + GST
Base reward rate
0.7%
Forex markup
3.5%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Travel & hotels
1.3%
Dining & delivery
1.3%
Entertainment & movies
1.3%
Online shopping
0.7%
Groceries & essentials
0.7%
Bills & utilities
0.7%
Subscriptions & streaming
0.7%
Beauty & wellness
0.7%
Offline store shopping
0.7%
International spending
0.7%
Insurance premiums
0.7%
Education & family
0.7%
Healthcare & pharmacy
0.7%
Other miscellaneous
0.7%
Gold & jewellery
0.7%
Fuel & commute
0%
House rent
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
No general cap recorded
Annual fee waiver
No waiver recorded
Monthly income requirement
Approx. ₹1,00,000/month salaried · ₹1,25,000/month self-employed

Airport lounge access

12 domestic airport lounge visits per year • 12 international airport lounge visits per year

12 domestic airport lounge visits per year · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

Shared issuer allowance applies to primary and add-on cardholders.

12 international airport lounge visits per year · Priority Pass

Guest access: Chargeable

Shared issuer allowance applies to primary and add-on cardholders.

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 6 items
  • Participating Marriott hotel rewards

    Usage-based value

    8 points per ₹150 requires an eligible charge by a participating Marriott hotel; after the monthly threshold the base rate applies but the calculator conservatively stops the accelerated rule.

    Conditions: 8 points per ₹150 requires an eligible charge by a participating Marriott hotel; after the monthly threshold the base rate applies but the calculator conservatively stops the accelerated rule.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Travel, dining and entertainment rewards

    Usage-based value

    4 points per ₹150 on eligible travel, dining and entertainment; after the monthly threshold the base rate applies but the calculator conservatively stops the accelerated rule.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Other eligible Bonvoy rewards

    Usage-based value

    2 Bonvoy points per ₹150 on other eligible retail purchases.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Free Night Award up to 15,000 points on joining and renewal after the qualifying transaction or fee levy

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • 8 Bonvoy points per ₹150 at participating Marriott hotels

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • 4 points per ₹150 on eligible travel, dining and entertainment; 2 points per ₹150 elsewhere

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹3,000

    ₹3,000 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹3,000

    ₹3,000 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Welcome benefits · 3 items
  • Free Night Award up to 15,000 points

    Recorded value ₹4,500

    Welcome Free Night Award, conservatively valued at 15,000 points × ₹0.30.

    Conditions: Pay the applicable joining fee · Complete one ₹500 transaction within 90 days or meet the fee-levy condition · Not available on lifetime-free issuance

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Marriott Bonvoy Silver Elite status

    Shown without a cash value

    Complimentary Silver Elite status in the welcome package.

    Conditions: Meet the qualifying transaction or fee condition · Not available on lifetime-free issuance

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • 10 Elite Night Credits

    Shown without a cash value

    Ten Marriott Bonvoy Elite Night Credits in the welcome package.

    Conditions: Meet the qualifying transaction or fee condition · Not available on lifetime-free issuance

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Spend milestones · 3 items
  • Free Night Award at ₹6 lakh

    Recorded value ₹4,500

    Redeemable up to 15,000 Bonvoy points; ₹4,500 is a conservative 15,000 × ₹0.30 valuation.

    Conditions: Reach ₹6,00,000 per card anniversary year

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Free Night Award at ₹9 lakh

    Recorded value ₹4,500

    Redeemable up to 15,000 Bonvoy points; ₹4,500 is a conservative 15,000 × ₹0.30 valuation.

    Conditions: Reach ₹9,00,000 per card anniversary year

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Free Night Award at ₹15 lakh

    Recorded value ₹4,500

    Redeemable up to 15,000 Bonvoy points; ₹4,500 is a conservative 15,000 × ₹0.30 valuation.

    Conditions: Reach ₹15,00,000 per card anniversary year

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Card tiers · 1 item
  • Silver Elite status and 10 Elite Night Credits on joining and renewal

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 2 items
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    12 visits per year through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified. Shared issuer allowance applies to primary and add-on cardholders.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • International lounge access

    Usage-based value

    12 visits per year through Priority Pass. Guest access: chargeable. Shared issuer allowance applies to primary and add-on cardholders.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Golf · 1 item
  • Two golf lessons and two rounds per quarter

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Insurance and protection · 3 items
  • Travel covers for baggage delay/loss, document loss and flight delay up to USD 250 each

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Air-accident cover USD 12,500 and medical cover USD 18,750

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Credit shield up to ₹1 lakh and loss liability up to ₹9 lakh

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Concierge · 1 item
  • Concierge available from 9am to 9pm

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 1 item
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    3.5% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. Self-employed threshold is derived from the published ₹15 lakh annual income requirement.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Other benefits · 1 item
  • Three additional Free Night Awards at ₹6 lakh, ₹9 lakh and ₹15 lakh anniversary spend

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Other categories (6)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ 8 Bonvoy points per ₹150 at participating Marriott hotels
  • ✓ 4 points per ₹150 on eligible travel, dining and entertainment; 2 points per ₹150 elsewhere
  • ✓ Silver Elite status, 10 Elite Night Credits and a Free Night Award on joining and renewal
  • ✓ Three additional Free Night Awards at ₹6 lakh, ₹9 lakh and ₹15 lakh anniversary spend

What to watch

GainFair uses a conservative ₹0.50 per Bonvoy point and scores the generic 4-points-per-₹150 travel rate; the 8-point rate applies only when charged directly by participating Marriott properties.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Rent · Wallet load · Gift cards · Prepaid cards · Vouchers · Government payments · Emi · Cash withdrawal · Fees charges

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Affiliate disclosure: Affiliate link · GainFair may earn a commission if you complete a qualifying action. You pay nothing extra, and compensation never affects recommendations or rankings. Read the full disclosure.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 13 Sept 2026