Independent card analysis

HDFC Bank Diners Club Black Metal Edition

HDFC Bank · Diners Club · Super Premium card

HDFC’s Diners-network sibling to Infinia: nearly identical economics but worth comparing directly if Diners Club acceptance matters less to you than the SmartBuy ecosystem.

Best suited to

High-spend HDFC relationship customers comparing metal-tier cards before choosing Infinia vs. this Diners variant.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 13 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹10,000 + GST
Joining fee
₹10,000 + GST
Base reward rate
3.3%
Forex markup
2%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Travel & hotels
3.3%
Online shopping
3.3%
Dining & delivery
3.3%
Groceries & essentials
3.3%
Beauty & wellness
3.3%
Entertainment & movies
3.3%
Subscriptions & streaming
3.3%
Offline store shopping
3.3%
Bills & utilities
3.3%
International spending
3.3%
Insurance premiums
3.3%
Education & family
3.3%
Healthcare & pharmacy
3.3%
Other miscellaneous
3.3%
Gold & jewellery
3.3%
Fuel & commute
0%
House rent
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
No general cap recorded
Annual fee waiver
At ₹8,00,000 annual spending
Monthly income requirement
Approx. ₹2,50,000/month salaried · ₹2,50,000/month self-employed

Airport lounge access

Unlimited domestic airport lounge visits • Unlimited international airport lounge visits

1 domestic airport lounge visit per year · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

Unlimited; the positive visit placeholder is ignored when unlimited is true. Published for primary and add-on cardholders.

1 international airport lounge visit per year · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

Unlimited; the positive visit placeholder is ignored when unlimited is true. Published for primary and add-on cardholders.

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 9 items
  • SmartBuy hotel rewards

    Usage-based value

    10X applies only to eligible hotel bookings completed through SmartBuy.

    Conditions: 10X applies only to eligible hotel bookings completed through SmartBuy.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • SmartBuy flight rewards

    Usage-based value

    5X applies only to eligible flight bookings completed through SmartBuy.

    Conditions: 5X applies only to eligible flight bookings completed through SmartBuy.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Weekend dining rewards

    Usage-based value

    2X applies only at participating dining merchants during the published weekend offer.

    Conditions: 2X applies only at participating dining merchants during the published weekend offer.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Eligible grocery rewards

    Usage-based value

    5 points per ₹150, subject to the separate grocery cap.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Eligible utility rewards

    Usage-based value

    5 points per ₹150, subject to the separate utility cap.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Eligible insurance rewards

    Usage-based value

    5 points per ₹150, subject to the separate insurance cap.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Other eligible rewards

    Usage-based value

    5 reward points per ₹150 on other eligible settled retail purchases.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • 5 reward points per eligible ₹150

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • 10,000 bonus points each calendar quarter at ₹4 lakh eligible spend

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹10,000

    ₹10,000 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹10,000

    ₹10,000 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fee waiver · 1 item
  • Annual fee waiver

    Usage-based · up to ₹10,000

    Annual fee may be waived after ₹8,00,000 of eligible annual spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹8,00,000 eligible annual spending

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Welcome benefits · 3 items
  • Club Marriott annual membership

    Shown without a cash value

    First-year Club Marriott membership in the current welcome package.

    Conditions: Spend ₹1.5 lakh within 90 days of card issuance · Activate and enrol under issuer fulfilment terms

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Amazon Prime annual membership

    Shown without a cash value

    Annual Amazon Prime membership in the current welcome package.

    Conditions: Spend ₹1.5 lakh within 90 days of card issuance · Partner fulfilment terms apply

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Three months of Swiggy One

    Shown without a cash value

    Three-month Swiggy One membership in the current welcome package.

    Conditions: Spend ₹1.5 lakh within 90 days of card issuance · Partner fulfilment terms apply

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Spend milestones · 1 item
  • 10,000 points at ₹4 lakh quarterly spend

    10,000 reward units

    Unlocked after ₹4,00,000 of eligible spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹4,00,000 per calendar quarter

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 2 items
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    Unlimited visits through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified. Unlimited; the positive visit placeholder is ignored when unlimited is true. Published for primary and add-on cardholders.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • International lounge access

    Usage-based value

    Unlimited visits through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified. Unlimited; the positive visit placeholder is ignored when unlimited is true. Published for primary and add-on cardholders.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Dining · 2 items
  • Up to 40% Swiggy Dineout savings

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • 10X on SmartBuy hotels, 5X on SmartBuy flights and 2X on participating weekend dining

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Golf · 1 item
  • Six golf games per quarter, capped at 24 per year

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Insurance and protection · 4 items
  • ₹2 crore air-accident cover

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Overseas medical cover up to ₹50 lakh

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Baggage-delay cover up to ₹55,000

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Credit-liability cover up to ₹9 lakh

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Memberships · 1 item
  • Club Marriott annual membership, Amazon Prime annual membership and three months of Swiggy One after ₹1.5 lakh spend in 90 days

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Concierge · 1 item
  • 24/7 concierge

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 1 item
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    2% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. Published minimum monthly income: ₹2,50,000. Self-employed threshold is derived from the published ₹30 lakh annual income requirement.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Other categories (5)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ 5 reward points per eligible ₹150
  • ✓ 10X on SmartBuy hotels, 5X on SmartBuy flights and 2X on participating weekend dining
  • ✓ 10,000 bonus points each calendar quarter at ₹4 lakh eligible spend
  • ✓ Unlimited domestic and international lounge access for primary and add-on cardholders

What to watch

Diners Club has narrower merchant acceptance in India than Visa/Mastercard/RuPay: check acceptance at your regular spend locations first.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Rent · Wallet load · Government payments · Emi · Cash withdrawal

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 13 Sept 2026