Independent card analysis

CUB SalarySe Level Up Credit Card

City Union Bank · RuPay · Mid card

Combines RuPay UPI, low forex and conditional lounge access in a relatively low-fee product.

Best suited to

SalarySe users who want one card for UPI, occasional travel and low foreign-currency costs.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 23 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹500 + GST
Joining fee
₹500 + GST
Base reward rate
0.2%
Forex markup
1%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Online shopping
1%
Groceries & essentials
1%
Dining & delivery
1%
Travel & hotels
1%
Beauty & wellness
1%
Entertainment & movies
1%
Healthcare & pharmacy
1%
Subscriptions & streaming
1%
Offline store shopping
1%
International spending
1%
Other miscellaneous
1%
Bills & utilities
0.2%
Education & family
0.2%
House rent
0.2%
Insurance premiums
0.2%
Fuel & commute
0%
Gold & jewellery
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
No general cap recorded
Annual fee waiver
At ₹2,00,000 annual spending
Monthly income requirement
Not listed

Airport lounge access

12 domestic airport lounge visits per year

3 domestic airport lounge visits per quarter · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

Requires ₹10,000 per Billing cycle for the following calendar month

One RuPay lounge voucher per eligible month, represented as three per quarter.

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 5 items
  • SalaryDay virtual-card rate

    Usage-based value

    25 SCoins per ₹100 on the first and last day of the month after ₹5,000 of qualifying non-SalaryDay spend; this is the virtual-card rate.

    Conditions: 25 SCoins per ₹100 on the first and last day of the month after ₹5,000 of qualifying non-SalaryDay spend; this is the virtual-card rate.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • SalarySe UPI monthly tiers

    Usage-based value

    Five SCoins per ₹100 through ₹20,000 and ten SCoins per ₹100 on incremental eligible monthly SalarySe UPI spend above ₹20,000.

    Conditions: Five SCoins per ₹100 through ₹20,000 and ten SCoins per ₹100 on incremental eligible monthly SalarySe UPI spend above ₹20,000.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Online and in-store monthly tiers

    Usage-based value

    Five SCoins per ₹100 through ₹20,000 and ten SCoins per ₹100 on incremental eligible monthly online or in-store card spend above ₹20,000.

    Conditions: Five SCoins per ₹100 through ₹20,000 and ten SCoins per ₹100 on incremental eligible monthly online or in-store card spend above ₹20,000.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Other-app UPI base

    Usage-based value

    One SCoin per ₹100 on eligible UPI payments outside the SalarySe accelerated route.

    Conditions: One SCoin per ₹100 on eligible UPI payments outside the SalarySe accelerated route.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Published base categories

    Usage-based value

    One SCoin per ₹100 on published base categories including utilities, education, rent and insurance.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹500

    ₹500 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹500

    ₹500 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Fee waiver · 1 item
  • Annual fee waiver

    Usage-based · up to ₹500

    Annual fee may be waived after ₹2,00,000 of eligible annual spending.

    Conditions: Reach ₹2,00,000 eligible annual spending

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 1 item
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    3 visits per quarter through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified. One RuPay lounge voucher per eligible month, represented as three per quarter.

    Conditions: Spend ₹10,000 per billing cycle

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 2 items
  • Paid variant carries 1% forex markup; the lifetime-free variant carries 2%

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    1% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. No universal verified numeric income threshold is used as a hard filter. The reviewed City Union Bank documents do not publish a universal numeric income threshold.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Other benefits · 5 items
  • 7.5% SalaryDay value for eligible SalarySe UPI users holding both physical and virtual cards, subject to the published unlock and cap

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • 1% fuel-surcharge waiver on ₹400-₹3,000 transactions, capped at ₹300 per statement cycle

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • 1% value back on the first ₹20,000 of monthly eligible SalarySe UPI, online and in-store spend

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • 2% value back on incremental eligible monthly spend above ₹20,000

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
  • 5% SalaryDay value on qualified virtual-card SalarySe UPI spend

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-23Official source ↗
Other categories (11)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ 1% value back on the first ₹20,000 of monthly eligible SalarySe UPI, online and in-store spend
  • ✓ 2% value back on incremental eligible monthly spend above ₹20,000
  • ✓ 5% SalaryDay value on qualified virtual-card SalarySe UPI spend
  • ✓ One domestic lounge visit monthly after ₹10,000 of prior billing-cycle spend

What to watch

Five SCoins equal ₹1. SalaryDay needs ₹5,000 of non-SalaryDay spend and has a ₹15,000 eligible-spend cap; the 7.5% headline rate additionally requires both physical and virtual cards. Ordinary UPI outside SalarySe earns only the 0.2% base.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Gold Jewellery · Wallet load · Cash withdrawal · Quasi cash · Gambling · Service provider payments

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Affiliate disclosure: Affiliate link · GainFair may earn a commission if you complete a qualifying action. You pay nothing extra, and compensation never affects recommendations or rankings. Read the full disclosure.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 23 Sept 2026