Independent card analysis

Axis Bank Horizon Credit Card

Axis Bank · Mastercard · Premium card

Offers a simple 5% travel earn rate at a lower annual fee than many premium travel cards, with a useful lounge package for frequent flyers.

Best suited to

Frequent flyers who book directly with airlines or through Travel EDGE and can use airport lounges.

Authored and reviewed by GainFair
Terms checked 13 Sept 2026
Annual fee
₹3,000 + GST
Joining fee
₹3,000 + GST
Base reward rate
2%
Forex markup
3.5%

Reward rates by spending category

Published catalogue rates before caps and merchant-category exclusions.

CategoryRecorded rate
Online shopping
2%
Groceries & essentials
2%
Dining & delivery
2%
Travel & hotels
2%
Beauty & wellness
2%
Entertainment & movies
2%
Healthcare & pharmacy
2%
Subscriptions & streaming
2%
Offline store shopping
2%
International spending
2%
Other miscellaneous
2%
Gold & jewellery
2%
Fuel & commute
0%
Bills & utilities
0%
Education & family
0%
House rent
0%
Insurance premiums
0%

Caps and fee waiver

Reward caps
No general cap recorded
Annual fee waiver
No waiver recorded
Monthly income requirement
Not listed

Airport lounge access

24 domestic airport lounge visits per year • 8 international airport lounge visits per year

6 domestic airport lounge visits per quarter · Issuer card

Guest access: Not specified

Conservative Mastercard allowance; the Visa variant publishes eight domestic visits per quarter.

2 international airport lounge visits per quarter · Priority Pass

Guest access: Not specified

Benefit details

Benefits & conditions

Expand a category to see recorded benefits, fees and eligibility, with conditions and links to the sources. Categories without recorded details are grouped below; missing information does not mean a benefit is unavailable.

Rewards and cashback · 6 items
  • Travel EDGE rewards

    Usage-based value

    5 EDGE Miles per ₹100 only on eligible Axis Travel EDGE purchases.

    Conditions: 5 EDGE Miles per ₹100 only on eligible Axis Travel EDGE purchases.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Direct-airline rewards

    Usage-based value

    5 EDGE Miles per ₹100 only on airline-owned booking channels; travel agents and online travel agencies receive the base rate.

    Conditions: 5 EDGE Miles per ₹100 only on airline-owned booking channels; travel agents and online travel agencies receive the base rate.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • Other eligible EDGE Miles

    Usage-based value

    2 EDGE Miles per ₹100 on other eligible purchases, including online travel agencies and travel agents.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
  • 1,500 renewal EDGE Miles on completion of each anniversary year for fee-paying cards

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Five EDGE Miles per ₹100 on Travel EDGE and eligible direct-airline channels

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Two EDGE Miles per ₹100 on other eligible purchases

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fees · 2 items
  • Annual card fee

    Cost ₹3,000

    ₹3,000 annual fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • Joining fee

    Cost ₹3,000

    ₹3,000 one-time joining fee before applicable tax.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Welcome benefits · 1 item
  • 5,000 EDGE Miles

    Recorded value ₹5,000

    Welcome miles with issuer-stated value of ₹5,000.

    Conditions: Pay the applicable joining fee · Complete a transaction of at least ₹1,000 within 30 days · Not available on lifetime-free issuance

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Airport lounge access · 2 items
  • Domestic lounge access

    Usage-based value

    6 visits per quarter through Issuer card. Guest access: not specified. Conservative Mastercard allowance; the Visa variant publishes eight domestic visits per quarter.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
  • International lounge access

    Usage-based value

    2 visits per quarter through Priority Pass. Guest access: not specified.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Dining · 1 item
  • Dining Delights and Wednesday Delight merchant discounts

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Insurance and protection · 1 item
  • Lost-card liability cover up to ₹10 lakh under policy conditions

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Fuel benefits · 1 item
  • 1% fuel surcharge waiver on ₹400-₹5,000 transactions, capped at ₹400 per statement

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Foreign-currency charges · 1 item
  • Foreign-currency markup

    Usage-based value

    3.5% foreign-currency markup before applicable tax.

    Conditions: Applies to eligible foreign-currency transactions

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Eligibility and availability · 1 item
  • Application eligibility

    Shown without a cash value

    Application availability: open. No universal verified numeric income threshold is used as a hard filter. Axis Bank publishes age and residency conditions but no universal numeric income threshold for Horizon.

    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-21Official source ↗
Other benefits · 1 item
  • MakeMyTrip, Swiggy and Tira offers under their separate terms

    Shown without a cash value
    Status: verifiedReviewed: 2026-09-13Official source ↗
Other categories (8)

These categories have no detailed entries. We distinguish confirmed absences from information that still needs review.

What stands out

  • ✓ Five EDGE Miles per ₹100 on Travel EDGE and eligible direct-airline channels
  • ✓ Two EDGE Miles per ₹100 on other eligible purchases
  • ✓ Eight domestic lounge visits per quarter on Visa or six on Mastercard, plus two international visits per quarter
  • ✓ 5,000 welcome EDGE Miles and 1,500 renewal EDGE Miles under fee-paying issuance

What to watch

There is no standard spend-based annual-fee waiver, and utilities, insurance, education, rent, fuel and transport transactions are excluded from miles.

Recorded exclusions

Fuel Commute · Bills Utilities · Education Family · Insurance · Rent · Wallet load · Government payments · Transportation tolls · Gift cards

How GainFair evaluates this card

The personal card advisor applies your monthly spending to category rates, limits rewards at the applicable caps, adds eligible movie, milestone and lounge value, and subtracts annual fees plus foreign-currency markup and GST. It can recommend keeping your current cards when a new card does not create enough incremental value.

Affiliate disclosure: Affiliate link · GainFair may earn a commission if you complete a qualifying action. You pay nothing extra, and compensation never affects recommendations or rankings. Read the full disclosure.

Similar alternatives

Compare against

These cards have the closest mix of purpose, reward style, fee model and tier. They are suggestions for comparison, not rankings.

Terms tracker

Card change history

Material changes verified against dated issuer notices. Effective dates can differ from announcement dates.

  1. Value reduced

    DCC charge and reward exclusions revised

    Axis Bank increased the dynamic-currency-conversion charge and added gift-card transactions to no-earn categories.

    Before
    The prior DCC rate and exclusion list applied.
    After
    DCC is 3.5% before tax and eligible gift-card transactions no longer earn EDGE Miles.

Issuer sources

Open the sources used for this card's product details, rewards, fees and eligibility.

Sources checked 13 Sept 2026 · Latest recorded change effective 21 Aug 2026